Cincinnerdi Tech Stuff

A mind-numbing read if ever there was one

Setting up Vista #2

leave a comment »

A while back, probably in August, I installed Vista Beta 2 on an AMD64 laptop and found its performance to be ridiculous. I re-installed XP (the laptop was due for a reinstall anyway.) A while later I recieved Vista RC1 in the mail and set it aside, still quite skeptical. Sometime in December I installed it on a PC “A”, an Intel P4 w/ 512MB RAM and a BIOS video. I worked okay, though it had a ranking of 1.0, due to the video driver and low memory (isn’t max 5.9?) Aero glass wasn’t an option. I mostly wanted to see how it would work as a WinSrv03 client. I found it surprisingly XP-like in how you administer it, though one of the first things I noticed is that it sets up a few extra virtual network connections all by itself. Hmm?
But I’ve updated PC “C” some lately (see detail specs below) and decided to try Vista.
XP’s disk config is/was:

  • C: 250GB Maxtor PATA-Win boot and Documents and Settings
  • E: 40GB Samsung SATA-Financial records and Photos
  • F: 40GB Samsung SATA-Program files and Page File

So I unplugged all this, plopped in an additional 40GB Samsung and installed Vista on it. I noticed in the install that it will stop working on 30/05/2007 (Microsoft’s date format.) Oh well.
It all went fairly well and probably took two hours. Some issues:
It did not suggest that I actually use the 40GB drive and, though it was an NTFS drive it did not let me format it. Instead I had to zap the partition, then just told it to use it. It went from there.
It suggests that it will update itself on the fly, but never asks for the wireless network keys so of course it CAN’T. Updates are fairly automatic after that.
There were 3 optional updates offered. Two were for NVidia. I chose them all and found the the system reset DURING the update just as I was typing something. Then it booted, I got no screen and the hard disk ran for over 15 minutes. I did a hard reset, bypassed a Safe Mode offer screen and found that those same updates are still offered in Win Update. I decided to bypass those for right now!
Windows Live Protection is not installed by default, but when you tell it to look for an anti-virus solution, it is listed, though surprisingly, not at the top of the list. I installed a trial version of it. Windows Defender is not redundant with this I guess, as it is installed by default. Can’t quite make out yet where these two and Windows Firewall overlap, if at all.
It works well, so I re-hooked up the three drives and rebooted (BIOS re-defaulted to boot from IDE) and I’m cleaning up the XP install and will see about shrinking some partitions. I’ll keep XP bootable in the event I want to just fall back on it when Vista self-destructs in May.
The rating of the system turns out to be 4 due to the use of the processor. The detail ratings are:

  • 4 – CPU
  • 5.
  • 5.
  • 5.
  • 5.

Detail specs on PC “C”:

  • MSI K8NGM2-FID Socket 939 NVIDIA GeForce 6150 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
  • AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice 2.0GHz 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor
  • G.SKILL Value Series 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory
  • 3 SAMSUNG SpinPoint P80SD HD040GJ 40GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive – OEM
  • 1 Maxtor IDE disk
  • LITE-ON DVD Burner Black ATAPI/E-IDE Model SHW-1635S RTL
  • BFG Tech BFGR76256GTOCE GeForce 7600GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card
  • SAMSUNG 941BW Black 19″ 4 ms (GTG) DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 500:1
  • LITE-ON SK-1789/BS 2-Tone 104 Normal Keys 14 Function Keys PS/2 Wired Slim Keyboard
  • Rosewill RCR-100 USB 2.0 Internal Card Reader
Written by scottledyard

2007, January 14th at 9:30 am

Posted in Vista

Leave a Reply

