Cincinnerdi Tech Stuff

A mind-numbing read if ever there was one

Open Office Unlocking “Locked for Editing” files needs to be friendlier

with 2 comments

One day into using Open Office 3.x on my MacBook I found that one document I’d been working on was locked. That is, when I opened it I received the message “Document file qwerty.ods is locked for editing By…” My options were only to open read only or to open a copy. Hmmm. I even rebooted. Clearly I needed an option like, “Clear lock” since this file was on my Desktop and not needing to be locked.

After reading OpenOffice forum post it indicated I was looking for a hidden file. Being new to Macs I could find no way for Finder to show me a hidden file, so to the command line I went. Using “ls -a | less” I quickly found the file to be the same as the file name in question proceeded by “.~” It was the only such file as the command “ls .~*” proved so I issued a “rm .~*” and I the problem was solved.

No exactly  “user friendly”. If you know a simpler way, feel free to add a comment.

Written by scottledyard

2008, November 10th at 8:18 am

Posted in How to, Mac, Open Office, OS X

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for this post. Solved my problem. Fortunately I have Windows and I’ve rigged a hotkey to toggle hidden files.

    lomacar

    2011, January 6th at 8:50 pm

    • Can someone help me with a similar problem? I have a spreadsheet on open office. It has been infected by some virus. At the beginning of every month, I try to work on my spreadsheet, save it and when I come back to it, it will not open. If you look in the file folder for where it should be, just above it is a file called .~lock.name of file.ods#. It annoyingly locks the file. You can delete this file and then the spreadsheet will open up. However, after going thru this for 3 months, I decided the entire program may be infected since it keeps coming back. Also, I have a new problem. This month, it didn’t just lock it. When it unlocked it, it randomly deleted numbers in my spreadsheet or even replaced them with numbers I had never seen before. I decided the entire program must be infected. I left my backup files alone, in case I needed them. I deleted my files on the hard drive and deleted the AOO file, then re-downloaded and installed the AOO file. I started making a new spreadsheet to start where I had left off. Apparently deleting the program angers the virus. Now my whole computer will lock up. It will not allow me to save or save as my file, will not bring it back up after restarting the computer and trying to restore the file. In short, it renders the entire program useless because nothing can be saved. I’ve tried this twice and have the same results. Any help with getting rid of this? I’ve done 3 scans of my computer and it found no virus. Any help?

      Debra Louden

      2017, August 6th at 9:17 pm


Leave a Reply

